MET Gala 2012 The Good….

I apologise for the lack of posts recently but I have been incredibly busy prepping for shoots, shooting, editing and crediting! So a good comeback post is the MET Gala which took place on Monday in New York. This event is often called the East Coast Oscars and I definitely get more excited about them because people can really flex their fashion muscles without needing to please the middle road. That said, this year wasn’t a great example of this: the out of the ordinary looks were rarely exciting and lots of people played in safe. The theme this year was Schiaparelli and Prada: Impossible Conversations, and was chaired by Anna Wintour, Muccia Prada and, bizarrely, Carey Mulligan. This post focuses on the good and tomorrow I’ll post on the bad, and yes, I mean you, SJP!

January Jones in Versace. This yellow is so vibrant and I love the geometric accents of darker colour and all the tailoring is so flattering to her body. The turquoise necklace is a nice touch; I wouldn’t necessarily have thought a strong-ish necklace would have worked but because her hair and make up is so simple I think it looks great.

Ginnifer Goodwin in Monique Lhuillier. Another bold choice with its strong orange colour, in this case softened by the draping, the lace and the sheer sections.  The only downside for me are the shoes, which needed to be strappy and either same colour, nude or black.  And still just loving her short hair!

Jessica Stam in John Galliano for Dior.  This for me is what the MET ball is about. Yes, it’s a tad Star Trek with a healthy dose of the orient but it’s also beautiful and intricate and high fashion. I love the vertical flick of the blush eye liner that echoes the shoulder profile and the arm full of bracelets. It’s all just so classic Galliano, which is why he is much missed.

Diane Von Furstenburg in Diane Von Furstenburg. I love this woman, she dresses so well and always looks intereting, smart and elegant. I love the bright colour with the whimsical puzzle pieces and the long gloves make this more gala.  I think the chunky necklace works but I would have ditched the earrings.

Marion Cotillard in Dior. It’s elegant and timeless, beginning with the demure neckline and then getting edgier as it goes down. It’s not crazily fashion forward but not quite classic either, which is clever. I don’t like the watch though, it’s a major no-no; if you’re going to a ball like this one you don’t need to check the time.

Constance Jablonski in Haider Ackermann. Everyone knows my love for this man’s work and it’s so good to see him represented by a model I also admire. It’s not necessarily the best of his lovely colour combos – I would have chosen his burnt oranges and maroons – but none the less it’s striking and beautiful.

Beyonce in Givenchy. Only Beyonce can do this, so you’ve been warned! But seriously, wow! She looks all woman and so much more, hence my inclusion of a behind shot. This is dramatic and theatrical, her make-up is perfection and she’s glowing. I just wish the body underneath was slightly closer to her skin tone so it looked even more nude.

Milla Jovovich in Prada. The first and only Prada look I’ve included in the positive column.  I love the loose drape of the bodice, the gladiatorial panels on the skirt, the slightly twenties look with the side swept hair, but what is with those yellow/orange nails?! Horrible.

Doutzen Kroes in Roland Mouret. In an evening that featured quite a lot of black and white, this look stood out the most. It’s geometric with a light and humourous touch, almost a court jester quality (am I reading into it too much?!), and great old Hollywood hair to set a chic tone.

And finally Rihanna in Tom Ford. I dread to think how much this dress would cost but it has massive impact. It looks like hangbag material, as hard and shell-like as an armadillo and yet magically is also seductive and effortless. I think the claw nails take the theme too far and it’s a shame about the hair, I’m sure that Mr Ford would not have passed off on that!

I don’t know who these girls are but I like the composition of the architectural looks.

Source: Zimbio

Leave a comment