Discs of Clouds

I went to see the Anish Kapoor sculptures in Kensington Gardens one freezing cold day recently. There are four mirrored sculptures in various shapes positioned about the park, all designed to reflect the landscape around them, especially the sky. The day I chose to go was perfect for it, luckily, with the bare winter trees and a clear blue sky with lots of drifting clouds. I found them really beautiful and great to photograph.  It was amazing to see the clouds moving over their surfaces and the changing proportions as you walked around the installations. They work both from close up where you can play with the different perspectives of grass, sky and water that they reveal as you move, and also they look intriguingly alien when you catch sight of them from a distance.  They will be removed in March I think – I don’t know whether they will go on tour – but it would be great if they could be installed permanently sometime.

Leave a comment