Archive for November 13th, 2009

Cover Try

November 13, 2009

This is American Vogue’s December cover of Cate Blanchett (nearly done with all the Dec covers, phew!), supposedly shot by Annie Leibovitz and I’m disappointed Ms Wintour, I really am. Firstly, is she really just standing on a wooden box? in the middle of rolling fields with her hair being blown by a light summer wind? Hang on, this is a December cover. I think they hoped that if a piece of red velvet material made it into the picture it would help with the festive theme; it doesn’t! Also for me the perspective is wrong: her shoulders are tiny, almost childlike but then her head seems bigger, as if she’s leaning back but then pushing her head forward. And it’s Christmas…how about an amazing ruby necklace or diamonds, it’s too minimal. The make-up seems to have washed her out and the shadow on the side of her face is harsh. Finally what’s with the strap line across the top left hand corner? I love Cate Blanchett and I’m disappointed that Vogue couldn’t do better by her.

cateblanchettcover

Source: Fashion Gone Rogue