Archive for October 12th, 2011

Adorn my Neck

October 12, 2011

At a time when the gloomy economic mood in the country makes me spend too much time worrying about the state of the NHS, as well as the increase in the number of shark attacks worldwide and the way forward for English rugby and football, one reliable source of solace is  jewellery. The jewellery section of any shop, stall or online website is where you will find me whenever possible. These five pieces are my new wish list favourites:

Erickson Beamon’s 22-karat gold plated necklace (£735) is a statement piece if ever I saw one. I usually go for longer necklaces or chains and this length is a departure for me, although I have worked myself in with a couple of great Mawi collars.  I love the curved bars of rectangular diamonds here and the broken symmetry.

I love how starkly angular these Roberto Cavalli fishbone earrings (£740) are. They have an almost beetle-like quality, spiky and architectural, with the gold being almost like a shell with the legs protruding out. I am also generally loving grey stones at the moment,  it’s my new obsession because it works so well with both gold and silver. I would definitely wear these with a messy pony tail.

I’ve posted a similar Aurelie Bidermann wheatear necklace before (£1,290) because I love the whole idea of the wheat theme.  This one is a more fragile version and keeps with its inherent organic lightness. I love how natural this looks and it has the great quality of being good to wear by day with a white t-shirt and then used at night as a statement peice.

Oscar de la Renta’s £467 gold necklace is perhaps a little flowery but somehow it works. I like the length and the casual way it looks quite Indian or something you’d pick up whilst travelling, so perhaps it’s not quite justified at that price tag, but I think it would add just the right amount of nonchalant drama.

More Roberto Cavalli, these leaf earrings (£400) are in a great dark metal and tailor down to a point, again very flattering on a jaw line and providing just the right combination of feminine and fashion. These don’t look super expensive to me but I like the downward turn of them and think the flash of purply blue would look great with loose hair.

Source: Net-a-Porter.com