Archive for September 1st, 2009

Hayward Gallery

September 1, 2009

I went to the Hayward Gallery on London’s South Bank on Sunday to see Walking In My Mind. Here is the blurb from the official website:

Ten international artists – Charles Avery, Thomas Hirschhorn, Yayoi Kusama, Bo Christian Larsson, Mark Manders, Yoshitomo Nara, Jason Rhoades, Pipilotti Rist, Chiharu Shiota and Keith Tyson – transform the Hayward Gallery’s indoor galleries and outdoor sculpture terraces into a series of gigantic sculptural environments, each of which represents an individual mindscape. Interior worlds of emotions, thoughts, memories and dreams collide with exterior reality, blurring the boundaries between inner and outer space.

Some rooms I liked and others I totally didn’t understand; it’s hard to relate to a room with loads of sexually graphic images pasted onto poles and another covered in duct tape! But that’s just my opinion. No photos were allowed inside but I did get some good outside shots and the last three images I’ve scanned in from postcards. The exhibition, spread over the whole gallery, was a tad confusing to walk around but I liked the fact that some artists literally had a whole room to exhibit in. It closes on 6th September, so if you want to see it you need to go soon.

IMG_0767

IMG_0761

IMG_0766

IMG_0769

IMG_0770

IMG_0778

IMG_0776

IMG_0775

IMG_0786

img113

img114

img115