Archive for September 15th, 2011

Michael Kors S/S12 New York

September 15, 2011

I’m guessing that Michael Kors has been on safari? Who agrees? This was a themed collection if ever there was one: animal prints, obviously, but also loose shapes, earth and camouflage colours, a lovely baked orange, functional sandals, it was all there, though done with his usual assurance. I’ve never been a fan of the crossover bag for women, I don’t think it’s very flattering, and who knew tie dye was back? Michael Kors, apparently.

Source: Style.com

Oscar de la Renta S/S12 New York

September 15, 2011

The models’ hair at Oscar de la Renta’s show was crimped and untamed, which was against the trend for simplicity at the other shows, but perhaps signalled a younger, fresher approach this season, with voluminous ballgowns teamed with an evening version of a crop top or a Tshirt.  There were feathers and tassels and fringeing, in keeping with the flirty mood that’s around, but also some great versions of his show-stopping gowns and a refreshing palette of zingy colours, as well as white and black.

Source: Style.com

Marchesa S/S12 New York

September 15, 2011

I love looking at Marchesa shows, they give me such pleasure purely for the insane way they pleat, embroider, fold, drape and generally construct fabrics. You know what you’re going to get, and you’re going to get a lot of it, but the quality strikes you every time. All the fringeing was a little reminiscent of Riccardo Tisci’s Givenchy couture a couple of years ago, but there were some lovely gowns make in the best Marchesa tradition. Surprisingly, this was their first catwalk show for several seasons, usually preferring to showcase their work through the presentation of still models. The first picture I’ve posted is in fact the last look, with Karolina Kurkova looking amazing in melting silver; I love the neckline and the way it seems to defy gravity around her shoulders. I also thought Jordan Dunn looked stunning in her dress with the shimmering metallic moulded over sheer around her body.

Source: Style.com

Carolina Herrera S/S12 New York

September 15, 2011

This is my favourite collection so far. That doesn’t make me the coolest fashionista around, it’s not Wang or Rodarte, I know, but I can’t help what I love! I really like the fresh colours, the yellows, greens and pale blues patterned with large and small lines and blocks of black.  It all feels ‘lite’ in a good, not saccharine way.  There were some structured looks too and great origami folds. I liked the simple hair and lovely blushed lips on the models. The last two yellow dresses are my favourite, romantic and yet modern.

Source: Style.com